top of page

Frequently Asked Questions 

Chimney Skills Training is at the forefront of  providing training for those involved in the specialist sectors of the Chimney Occupations and the occupational roles of installer and chimney sweeps, including inspection, service and maintenance. The industry's current qualifications include NVQ Level 2 in Installing Chimney Flues and Solid Fuel Appliances, NVQ Level 2 in Sweeping, Servicing and Inspecting Flues and Appliances. The Level 3 NVQ is also available in Inspecting and Designing Chimneys and Dry Solid Fuel Appliances. 

Chimney Skills Training is a CITB Approved Training Organisations and works in partnership across the Industry to provide formal qualification and trade status to its trades.      

for more details

Why do an NVQ?

NVQs are by far the most popular qualification award amongst the trades. Learners like them as they can be done without giving up work and are completed on the job. Industry, employers and clients like them because they demonstrate an individual’s true skills and competencies. NVQs recognise a person’s applied knowledge and practical skills rather than being focused on traditional academic study.

What are NVQs?

NVQs (National Vocational Qualifications) are formal qualifications based on the national occupational standards. These standards are statements of performance that describe what the industry determines a competent person in a particular occupation is expected to be able to do. 

Where are NVQs Taken?

An NVQ is taken in the workplace, in college, or through a recognised training provider. The Chimney Occupations NVQs are taken within the workplace supplemented with additional training carried out online or in a training venue.  There are no age limits or within reason a time limit on completion. There is no formal entry requirement other than the candidate works within the industry.

How is an NVQ Achieved

To successfully complete an NVQ you need to demonstrate you can carry out certain work-related tasks. This will be assessed in a combination of  ways with your assessor submitting a Portfolio of competence to the Awarding Body. The assessor will test the candidates knowledge and applied skills through observation in the work place, professional

discussion, documented work evidence etc. When the required level of competence to reach the NVQ standard is demonstrated the assessor signs off the relevant module or unit. Once all modules have been successful evidenced and completed the assessor will submit the portfolio for the NVQ Certificate to be awarded.

The modular structure of the NVQ enables the candidate to demonstrate already acquired skills, increase or improve on the scope of their skills, or for those starting out within the industry.

For further details and information please register 

bottom of page